Vegan vs. Vegetarian Difference


Typically, many people tend to be confused when it comes to these two terms; vegan and vegetarian. Some claims that there is no tangible difference between the two and they should thus be treated the same. But as a matter of fact, these two terms are different to some extent, and they should, therefore, be treated differently at all times. In this particular article, our primary focus will be trying to bring out their actual difference to help you have a clear understanding between these two terms. This will help in eliminating the problems which generally arise when these two-terms are wrongly used, especially in communication.

Definition: Veganism And Vegetarianism

Vegan vs. Vegetarian Difference

Generally, veganism is a philosophy and also a form of compassionate lifestyle whose adherent seeks to exclude the use of any animal products as a food source. Apart from just using the animal product as food, veganism does not believe in the use of animal products clothing, decorations, or for any other purpose.  In general terms, vegans endeavor not to use or consume any animal product of whatever kind since this will be a form of violating their belief.

On the other hand, vegetarianism is basically the practice of a diet that only excludes the use of meat as a food source. This will include slaughtered by-products, game, and sea animals. In vegetarianism, there are lots of variants on a diet used. This is because, there are those who will consider the use of some of the animal products and by-products such as milk, eggs, and other processed products such as the yogurts.

Diet: Vegan Vs. Vegetarian

Vegan vs. Vegetarian Difference

A clear difference here is the fact that vegans do not consume meat, milk, honey, eggs, or any other product derived from animals. In general terms, vegans do not associate with any product derived from an animal to any given extent. They completely avoid using them. On the other hand, vegetarians will not eat meat or fish though they tend to consume animal products. This will include dairy products, eggs, honey, etc.

In fact, vegetarians can be put into several groups, i.e., Lacto-vegetarians and Ovo-vegetarians. Lacto-vegetarians are those that feed on dairy products while Ovo-vegetarians are those that feed on eggs. They do not eat gelatin or any other type of animal by-product.

Products Used

Vegan vs. Vegetarian Difference

Vegans do not use any of the animal’s derived products, i.e., the likes of fur, wool, leather, etc. this means that vegans do not at any given point condone the use of animals testing. On the other hand, vegetarians will not also eat meat. But they find it okay to use some of the animal’s derived products. Such products may include wool, leather and even fur.

In conclusion, we can clearly see that both vegans and vegetarians avoid consuming animal products though their extents differ. More so, both groups focus on having a healthy lifestyle to some extent through avoidance of health problems though vegans lifestyle can be at some point be considered to offer additional health benefits.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter